Kettering Road Music and Arts Centre

The Kettering Road Music and Arts Centre is the home of the Northamptonshire Music and Performing Arts Trust and is located just outside the town centre.

Known locally as the Northampton Music School, the building has a long musical tradition, with the John Clare School boasting two famous composers amongst its former pupils: Edmund Rubbra and William Alwyn. Another musical former student was Des O'Connor.

Since the early 1970s the building has been the home of the Music Service, now the Music and Performing Arts Trust. It is the administrative base and the venue for rehearsals for all county music groups as well as the home of youth theatre, Northampton rock and Early Years music projects.

There are three large rehearsal areas:

  • The Edmund Rubbra Hall (previously known as the Lower Hall)
  • Richard Coles Hall (previously known as the Upper Hall)
  • John Clare Theatre area

as well as 32 smaller rooms equipped as teaching and sectional rehearsal rooms with pianos and mirrors.

The building serves as an examination centre for ABRSM and Trinity College London. It is also the rehearsal home of various community groups including the Northampton Symphony Orchestra, Abington Wind Band, Northampton String Orchestra, Northampton Concert Band and Society of Recorder Players.

To find the Music and Arts Centre use this interactive map.